Agriculture Disaster Specialists


Disaster Information Resources
University of Florida's Institute of Food and Agricultural Sciences (UF/IFAS)

Topic  Name and Title  Contact Information  Specialization
Aquaculture Chuck Cichra
Professor, fisheries and aquatic sciences, Gainesville
(352) 273-3621
mcecichra@ufl.edu
Pond and lake management, water quality and fish kills
Ruth Francis-Floyd
Professor of large animal clinical sciences, College of Veterinary Medicine, Gainesville
(352) 294-4197
mrffloyd@ufl.edu
Aquatic animal medicine
Cattle John Arthington
Professor and Center Director, animal sciences, Range Cattle Research and Education Center, Ona
(863) 735-1314 ext. 202
jjarth@ufl.edu
 Cattle nutrition
Matt Hersom
Associate Professor, animal sciences, Gainesville
(352) 392-2390
hersom@ufl.edu
-- Alternative feeds and forage during disasters
-- Caring for cattle when regular buildings and equipment are out of service
Todd Thrift
Associate Professor, animal sciences, Gainesville
(352) 392-8597
tathrift@ufl.edu
Beef quality assurance programs
Citrus Tim Spann
Associate Professor, citrus horticulture, Citrus Research and Education Center, Lake Alfred
(863)956-8649 ext. 18649
spann@ufl.edu
Citrus horticulture and production
Dairy Albert De Vries
Associate professor, animal sciences, Gainesville
(352)392-5594
devries@ufl.edu
Improving productivity, profitability and sustainability of dairy farms
Mary Sowerby
Multi-county agent, extension agent III, Suwannee County, Live Oak
(386)362-2771 ext. 258
meso@ufl.edu
Economics of dairies
Chris Vann
Extension agent II, Lafayette County, Mayo
(386)294-1279
Lafayette@ufl.edu
Environmental regulations
Christopher Holcomb
Multi-county extension agent I, Bartow
(863)519-1050
christopherholc@ufl.edu
Lactation and reproductive management
Equine Amanda House
Assistant professor, veterinary medicine, Gainesville
(352) 294-4380
housea@ufl.edu
Large animal veterinarian
Mark Shuffitt
Extension agent IV, Marion County, Ocala
(352)671-8400
jmsh@ufl.edu
Preparing horse and livestock farms for disasters
Saundra Tenbroeck
Associate Professor, animal sciences, Gainesville
(352)392-2789
sht@ufl.edu
Horse reproduction, management, selection/evaluation, youth programs
Food Safety Keith Schneider
Associate Professor, food science & human nutrition, Gainesville
(352)392-1991 ext. 309
Keiths29@ufl.edu
Protecting against food contamination, risk assessment, food borne pathogens; Food Microbiology
Michelle Danyluk
Assistant Professor, Citrus and Research Education Center, Lake Alfred
(863)956-8654 ext.18654
mddanyluk@ufl.edu
Protecting against food contamination, risk assessment, food borne pathogens; Food Microbiology
General Disaster Preparation and Response Randy Cantrell
Assistant Professor, family youth and community sciences, Gainesville
(352) 273-3554
rcantrell@ufl.edu
Housing Specialist
Michael Spranger
Professor, Community Development
(352) 273-3557
sprangr@ufl.edu
Angie Lindsey
Assistant Professor, Community Issues Education
(352) 273-3552
ablindsey@ufl.edu
Ornamentals Aaron Palmateer
Associate Professor, UF/IFAS TREC
(786) 217-9275
ajp@ufl.edu
Controlling disease in nurseries
Juanita Popenoe
Extension Agent IV, Lake County, Tavares
(352)343-4101
jpopenoe@ifas.ufl.edu
Nursery production
Pesticide Use and Safety Fred Fishel
Associate Professor, agronomy
(352)392-4721
weeddr@ifas.ufl.edu
Commercial nurseries, greenhouses and sod
Repairing Commercial and Residential Buildings Wendell Porter
Research Scientist, agricultural and biological engineering, Gainesville
(352)392-1864 ext. 187
waporter@ufl.edu
Efficient Building Systems
Trees Michael Andreu
Associate Professor, School of Forest Resources and Conservation, Gainesville
(352) 846-0355
mandreu@ufl.edu
Forest Systems