UF/IFAS Specialists

Name Title Specialization Contact Information
State ESF 17 District Specialists
ESF 17 District Specialists Map
Aquaculture
Chuck Cichra Professor, fisheries and aquatic sciences, Gainesville Pond and lake management, water quality and fish kills (352) 273-3621
mcecichra@ufl.edu
Ruth Francis-Floyd Professor of large animal clinical sciences, College of Veterinary Medicine, Gainesville Aquatic animal medicine (352) 294-4197
mrffloyd@ufl.edu
Cattle
John Arthington Professor and Center Director, animal sciences, Range Cattle Research and Education Center, Ona Cattle nutrition (863) 735-1314 ext.202
jjarth@ufl.edu
Matt Hersom Associate Professor, animal sciences, Gainesville Alternative feeds and forage during disasters
Caring for cattle when regular buildings and equipment are out of service
(352) 392-2390
hersom@ufl.edu
Todd Thrift Associate Professor, animal sciences, Gainesville Beef quality assurance programs (352) 392-8597
jjarth@ufl.edu
Citrus
Tim Spann Associate Professor, citrus horticulture, Citrus Research and Education Center, Lake Alfred Citrus horticulture and production (863)956-8649 ext. 18649
spann@ufl.edu
Dairy
Albert De Vries Associate professor, animal sciences, Gainesville Improving productivity, profitability and sustainability of dairy farms (352) 392-5594
devries@ufl.edu
Mary Sowerby Multi-county agent, extension agent III, Suwannee County, Live Oak Economics of dairies (386)362-2771 ext. 2584
meso@ufl.edu
Chris Vann Extension agent II, Lafayette County, Mayo Environmental regulations (386) 294-1279
Lafayette@ufl.edu
Christopher Holcomb Multi-county extension agent I, Bartow Lactation and reproductive management (863) 519-1050
christopherholc@ufl.edu
Equine
Amanda House Assistant professor, veterinary medicine, Gainesville Large animal veterinarian (352) 294-4380
housea@ufl.edu
Mark Shuffitt Extension agent IV, Marion County, Ocala Preparing horse and livestock farms for disasters (352) 671-8400
jmsh@ufl.edu
Saundra Tenbroeck Associate Professor, animal sciences, Gainesville Horse reproduction, management, selection/evaluation, youth programs (352) 392-2789
sht@ufl.edu
Food Safety
Keith Schneider Associate Professor, food science & human nutrition, Gainesville Protecting against food contamination, risk assessment, food borne pathogens; Food Microbiology (352) 294-4380
housea@ufl.edu
Michelle Danyluk Assistant Professor, Citrus and Research Education Center, Lake Alfred Protecting against food contamination, risk assessment, food borne pathogens; Food Microbiology (863) 956-8654 ext.18654
mddanyluk@ufl.edu
Ornamentals
Aaron Palmateer Associate Professor, UF/IFAS TREC Controlling disease in nurseries (786) 217-9275
ajp@ufl.edu
Juanita Popenoe Extension Agent IV, Lake County, Tavares Controlling disease in nurseries (352) 343-4101
jpopenoe@ifas.ufl.edu
General Disaster Preparation and Response
Michael Spranger Professor, Community Development (352) 273-3557
sprangr@ufl.edu
Angie Lindsey Assistant Professor, Community Issues Education Housing Specialist (352) 273-3552
ablindsey@ufl.edu
Randy Cantrell Assistant Professor, family youth and community sciences, Gainesville (352) 273-3554
rcantrell@ufl.edu
Pesticide Use and Safety
Fred Fishel Associate Professor, agronomy Commercial nurseries, greenhouses and sod (352) 392-4721
weeddr@ifas.ufl.edu
Repairing Commercial and Residential Buildings
Wendell Porter Research Scientist, agricultural and biological engineering, Gainesville Controlling disease in nurseries (352)392-1864 ext. 187
waporter@ufl.edu
Trees
Michael Andreu Associate Professor, School of Forest Resources and Conservation, Gainesville Forest Systems (352) 846-0355
mandreu@ufl.edu