Name Title/Organization Specialization Contact Information
State ESF 17 District Specialists
ESF 17 District Specialists Map
Aquaculture
Chuck Cichra Professor, fisheries and aquatic sciences, Gainesville Pond and lake management, water quality and fish kills (352) 273-3621
mcecichra@ufl.edu
Roy Yanong Professor of fish health management/aquaculture, Tropical Aquaculture Laboratory, Ruskin, FL Aquatic animal medicine (813) 671-5230 ext 104
rpy@ufl.edu
Ruth Francis-Floyd Professor of large animal clinical sciences, College of Veterinary Medicine, Gainesville Aquatic animal medicine (352) 294-4197
mrffloyd@ufl.edu
Cattle
John Arthington Professor and Department Chair Animal Sciences Cattle nutrition (352) 294-6940
jjarth@ufl.edu
Todd Thrift Associate Professor, animal sciences, Gainesville Beef quality assurance programs (352) 392-8597
jjarth@ufl.edu
Citrus
Juanita Popenoe Extension Agent IV, Commercial Fruit Production, Lake County, Tavares Controlling disease in nurseries (352) 343-4101
jpopenoe@ifas.ufl.edu
Timothy Spann Associate Professor, citrus horticulture, Citrus Research and Education Center, Lake Alfred Citrus horticulture and production (863) 956-8649 ext. 18649
spann@ufl.edu
Dairy
Albert De Vries Professor, animal sciences, Gainesville Improving productivity, profitability and sustainability of dairy farms (352) 392-5594
devries@ufl.edu
Izabella Toledo Regional Specialized Agent Dairy (386) 294-1279
izatol@ufl.edu
Colleen Larson Interim CED, Okeechobee County RSA Agriculture (863) 763-6469
cclarson@ufl.edu
Equine
Saundra Tenbroeck Associate Professor, animal sciences, Gainesville Horse reproduction, management, selection/evaluation, youth programs (352) 392-2789
sht@ufl.edu
Carissa Wickens Assistant Professor, Extension Equine Specialist, Gainesville Horse behavior and welfare, management, alternative feeds and forage during disasters, adult extension programs. (352) 359-4550
cwickens@ufl.edu
Dr. Sally DeNotta Assistant Professor, Veterinary Medicine and Extension, Gainesville UF/IFAS Extension Equine Veterinarian, Large animal veterinarian (352) 294-4191
s.denotta@ufl.edu
Food Safety
Keith Schneider Professor, food science & human nutrition, Gainesville Protecting against food contamination, risk assessment, food borne pathogens; Food Microbiology (352) 294-3910
keiths29@ufl.edu
Michelle Danyluk Professor, Citrus and Research Education Center, Lake Alfred Protecting against food contamination, risk assessment, food borne pathogens; Food Microbiology (863) 956-8654
mddanyluk@ufl.edu
Ornamentals
Brooke Moffis Extension Agent, Lake County Urban Commercial Horticulture (352) 343-4101 x2713
burnb48@ufl.edu
General Disaster Preparation and Response
Angie Lindsey Assistant Professor, Professor, Public Issues Education & Family, Youth and Community Services (352) 273-3552
ablindsey@ufl.edu
Randy Cantrell Assistant Professor, Family Youth and Community Sciences, Gainesville Housing Specialist (352) 273-3554
rcantrell@ufl.edu
Pesticide Use and Safety
Jason Ferrell Professor and Director, Pesticide Information Office Pesticide use and pest management (352) 273-3685
jferrell@ufl.edu
Brett Bultemeier Professor, Pesticide Information Office Pesticides (352) 294-6941
bwbult@ufl.edu
Repairing Commercial and Residential Buildings
Wendell Porter Research Scientist, agricultural and biological engineering, Gainesville Controlling disease in nurseries (352) 392-1864 ext. 187
waporter@ufl.edu
Trees
Michael Andreu Associate Professor, School of Forest Resources and Conservation, Gainesville Forest Systems (352) 846-0355
mandreu@ufl.edu
Chris Demers Florida Forest Stewardship Program Extension Program Manager, School of Forest Resources and Conservation, Gainesville Florida Forest Stewardship Program (352) 846-2375
cdemers@ufl.edu
Jiri Hulcr Associate Professor, School of Forest Resources and Conservation, Gainesville Forest Entomology (352) 273-0299
hulcr@ufl.edu
Jason Smith Associate Professor, School of Forest Resources and Conservation, Gainesville Forest Pathology (352) 846-0843
jasons@ufl.edu